Episode # 13

Tony Hogan Bought Me an Ice-Cream Float Before He Stole My Ma

Kerry Hudson

The story of an irresistible, irrepressible heroine, a dysfunctional Scottish family you can't help but adore, the absurdities of the eighties and the fierce bonds that tie people together no matter what. Read More »

Fiction
On Sale Date:
Imprint:
Format:
Pages:
Price:
ISBN:
ISBN-13:
Publisher:

 


1/28/14
Penguin
Hardcover
272 pgs.
$15.00
0143124641
978-0143124641
Penguin

 


VIEW CHAT ARCHIVE
 

LISTEN TO THE INTERVIEW
Nora Rawlinson & Kerry Hudson
discuss Tony Hogan Bought Me an Ice-Cream Float Before He Stole My Ma
Download Interview

Sign Up Today! Click Here

 

Tony Hogan Bought Me an Ice-Cream Float Before He Stole My Ma

Reminiscent of early Roddy Doyle, Tony Hogan Bought Me an Ice-Cream Float Before He Stole My Ma begins with our singular heroine’s less than idyllic birth and quickly moves to a spectacular fight that lands Janie and her mother in a local women’s shelter. From there it’s on to a dodgy council flat and a succession of unsuitable men, including the hard-drinking, drug-dealing, ice-cream-buying Tony Hogan. Kerry Hudson’s arrestingly original debut was shortlisted for the Guardian First Book Award and the Saltire Scottish First Book of the Year and is an arrestingly original debut. Tony Hogan will enthrall readers with Janie’s tragicomic and moving story about coming of age in a non-traditional family amid the absurdities of the 1980s and Thatcherite Britain. For readers of The Death of Bees and Salvage the Bones, with YA crossover potential.

Praise for Tony Hogan Bought Me an Ice-Cream Float Before He Stole My Ma

“A witty and lively novel set somewhere between the worlds of Roddy Doyle and Irvine Welsh.”
The Guardian

“Kerry Hudson's fine, eloquent debut novel traces the peripatetic childhood of Janie Ryan... her tale is full of warmth and bittersweet humour”
David Evans, Financial Times

“'Trainspotting on a sugar rush' has been my pat description when recommending this spirited debut novel... a remarkable story of love and loyalty, of fierce passion and scabrous wit, full of characters whose broad vernacular is direct and expressive. This is about a culture with just as much right to be called British as that of middle-class suburbia.”
Jonathan Ruppin Foyles, Best Fiction of 2012


Kerry Hudson was born in Aberdeen. Growing up in a succession of council estates, B&Bs and caravan parks provided her with a keen eye for idiosyncratic behaviour and plenty of material for this, her first novel. She currently lives, works and writes in London.