Episode # 32

Black Rabbit Hall
A Novel

Eve Chase

For fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Waters, here’s a magnetic debut novel of wrenching family secrets, forbidden love, and heartbreaking loss housed within the grand gothic manor of Black Rabbit Hall.
Read More »



 

Fiction
On Sale Date:
Imprint:
Format:
Pages:
Price:
ISBN:
ISBN-13:
Publisher:

 


02/09/16
G.P. Putnam's Sons
Hardcover
384 pgs.
$27.95
0399174125
9780399174124
G.P. Putnam's Sons

 


VIEW CHAT ARCHIVE
 

Sign Up Today! Click Here

 

Black Rabbit Hall

Ghosts are everywhere, not just the ghost of Momma in the woods, but ghosts of us too, what we used to be like in those long summers…

Amber Alton knows that the hours pass differently at Black Rabbit Hall, her London family’s country estate, where no two clocks read the same. Summers there are perfect, timeless. Not much ever happens. Until, of course, it does.

More than three decades later, Lorna is determined to be married within the grand, ivy-covered walls of Pencraw Hall, known as Black Rabbit Hall among the locals. But as she’s drawn deeper into the overgrown grounds, half-buried memories of her mother begin to surface and Lorna soon finds herself ensnared within the manor’s labyrinthine history, overcome with an insatiable need for answers about her own past and that of the once-happy family whose memory still haunts the estate.

Stunning and atmospheric, this debut novel is a thrilling spiral into the hearts of two women separated by decades but inescapably linked by the dark and tangled secrets of Black Rabbit Hall.

Praise for Black Rabbit Hall

“A twisting gothic of family secrets, forbidden lust, and an extraordinary family… Eve Chase kept me up.”
Miranda Beverly-Whittemore, New York Times bestselling author of Bittersweet.

“If Daphne Du Maurier and Ruth Rendell in Barbara Vine mode had been able to collaborate, they might have come up with something like Black Rabbit Hall: Rebecca meets A Fatal Inversion. But Eve Chase is very much her own novelist, as fascinated by the varieties of love and affection that hold families together as by the forces that can tear them apart. A remarkable debut from an exceptionally talented and accomplished author.”
John Harwood, author of The Ghost Writer and The Séance.

“A deliciously intriguing novel whose rich sense of time and place bear more than a few echoes of du Maurier’s best.”
Alex Marwood Edgar Award-winning author of The Wicked Girls


 
Eve Chase is an exciting new voice in fiction. She lives in Oxford, England, with her husband and three children.